fbpx

Single-use plastic is banned

Single-use plastic products are not only banned in Germany.
From July 3, 2021, the production of single-use plastic will no longer be permitted across the EU.

Plates, cutlery, to-go cups

Which single-use plastic products may no longer be sold in the future?

Drinking straws, stirrers for coffee, disposable tableware made of conventional plastic and made of "Bioplastics" as well as to-go cups and disposable styrofoam containers should be banned.

The federal cabinet decided that. After the Bundestag, the Bundesrat also gave its approval on November 6th.

Cotton swabs, cutlery, plates, drinking straws, stirring sticks and plastic balloon sticks as well To-go- Drinks cups, fast food packaging and disposable food containers made from expanded polystyrene (known as Styrofoam) will no longer be allowed.

The regulation bans conventional single-use plastic products made from fossil fuels such as crude oil. If they end up in the environment and not in the yellow bin, they will remain there for many decades - just like disposable plastic bags. Disposable plates or cups made of bio-based or biodegradable plastics are also prohibited. 

How much single-use packaging is thrown away every day in Germany?

Around 320.000 one-way cups are used every hour in Germany alone - up to 140.000 of them to-go cups, according to the Federal Environment Ministry. The waste balance of disposable tableware and to-go packaging was more than 2017 tonnes in 346.000, according to a survey by the Society for Packaging Market Research. According to the Federal Environment Agency, the total amount of plastic waste rose by 2015 percent to 2017 million tons between 3,9 and 6,15. That was the highest level so far. The reusable share has been falling for years, especially in beverage packaging. However, as part of the EU-wide one-way plastic ban, many companies have now switched to manufacturing reusable products, for example.

To protect the sea and the environment: The cabinet has passed a ban on the sale of disposable plastic items. Photo: Federal Government

Newsletter

Become sustainable!

Look forward to topics that are of lasting interest to you. 
With our newsletter you will not miss any information on PAPACKS product innovations, industry solutions, circular economy, research and development, events and workshops.

Take part now!
If you no longer want this free service, you can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy

fbpx

Einweg-Plastik wird verboten

Einwegprodukte aus Kunststoff werden nicht nur in Deutschland verboten.
Ab dem 3. Juli 2021 ist die Herstellung von Einwegplastik EU-weit nicht mehr erlaubt.

Teller, Besteck, To-go-Becher

Welche Einweg-Kunststoffprodukte dürfen künftig nicht mehr verkauft werden?

Trinkhalme, Rührstäbchen für den Kaffee, Einweg-Geschirr aus konventionellem Plastik und aus „Bioplastik“ sowie To-go-Becher und Einweg-Behälter aus Styropor sollen verboten werden.

Das hat das Bundeskabinett beschlossen. Nach dem Bundestag hat am 6. November auch der Bundesrat zugestimmt.

Wattestäbchen, Besteck, Teller, Trinkhalme, Rührstäbchen und Luftballonstäbe aus Kunststoff sowie To-go-Getränkebecher, Fast-Food-Verpackungen und Wegwerf-Essenbehälter aus expandiertem Polystyrol (bekannt als Styropor) sind künftig nicht mehr erlaubt.

Mit der Verordnung werden herkömmliche Einwegprodukte aus Kunststoff verboten, die aus fossilen Rostoffen wie Rohöl hergestellt werden. Landen sie in der Umwelt und nicht in der gelben Tonne, verbleiben sie dort viele Jahrzehnte – genau wie Einweg-Plastiktüten. Verboten werden zudem Wegwerfteller oder -becher aus biobasierten oder biologisch abbaubaren Kunststoffen. 

Wie viele Einwegverpackungen werden täglich in Deutschland weggeworfen?

Stündlich werden allein rund 320.000 Einweg-Becher in Deutschland verbraucht – davon bis zu 140.000 To-go-Becher, so das Bundesumweltministerium. Die Abfall-Bilanz von Einweggeschirr und To-go-Verpackungen betrug im Jahr 2017 mehr als 346.000 Tonnen, ergab eine Erhebung der Gesellschaft für Verpackungsmarktforschung. Die Menge der Kunststoffabfälle insgesamt stieg laut Umweltbundesamt zwischen 2015 und 2017 um 3,9 Prozent auf 6,15 Millionen Tonnen. Das war bisher Höchststand. Vor allem bei Getränkeverpackungen sinkt der Mehrweganteil seit Jahren. Viele Unternehmen sind jedoch im Zuge des EU-weiten Einwegkunststoffverbots inzwischen auf die Herstellung etwa von Mehrwegprodukten umgestiegen.

Zum Schutz des Meeres und der Umwelt: Das Kabinett hat ein Verkaufsverbot für Wegwerfartikel aus Kunststoff verabschiedet. Foto: Bundesregierung
Newsletter Anmeldung
Machen Sie jetzt mit!

Nachhaltig werden!

Freuen Sie sich auf Themen die für Sie von nachhaltigem Interesse sind.

Mit unserem Newsletter verpassen Sie keine Informationen zu PAPACKS Produktneuheiten, Branchenlösungen, Circular Economy, Forschung und Entwicklung, Events und Workshops.

Sollten Sie diesen kostenlosen Service nicht mehr wünschen, so können Sie sich jederzeit abmelden. Datenschutz